Skip to content

AFMW President Report April 2014

  •  AFMW 
  • On January 8, 2014, AFMW members Associate Professor Jan Coles, Dr Desiree Yap, Professor Cabrielle Casper and Dr Raie Goodwach submitted a response to WHO’s recent Secretariat report “Addressing the global challenge of violence, in particular against women and girls” (Doc EB134/21)

  • The Medicine in Australia: Balancing Employment and Life (MABEL) team approached AFMW to partake in a 15 minute presentation on key issues facing women in their current and future roles in medicine, and key policy issues that would promote women’s participation given their current social roles in the community.  Professors Jan Coles and Deborah Colville undertook this on April 10.  A copy of their presentations will soon be available on the AFMW website.
  • Drs Desiree Yap and Rosalind Terry attended the Governor-General Farewell morning tea on behalf of AFMW on March 2.  We presented her with a copy of the ‘Strength in Mind: 125 Years of Women in Medicine’ book prepared by the Melbourne University Medical Museum.  AFMW will approach Quentin Bryce to see if she is willing to be our Patron.
  • AFMW is still awaiting the outcome of our application to become a member and be eligible to attend the Annual Conference of United Nations Department of Public Information/Non-Governmental Organizations, which was submitted in December 2012.
  • On November 23, 2013, Dr Liz Rickman submitted a letter regarding: Release of Australians and others held without trial: THE ARCTIC 30, to Minister for Foreign Affairs, Julie Bishop.  They have now been released.

Honours to Members 

  • Dr Carol Cox received an AM for significant service to medicine in rural and remote areas as a general practitioner, to education and to professional medical organisations.
  • Dr Penelope Ruth Flett received an OAM for distinguished service to aged persons through significant contributions to improve care and support services, to education, and to the community of Western Australia.
  • Professor Christine Constance Bennett received an OA for distinguished service to medicine and healthcare leadership, as a clinician, researcher and educator, particularly in the fields of child and family health and social policy.
  • Victorian Department of Health Chief Health Officer Dr Rosemary Lester also received a Public Service Medal in 2014 for outstanding public service in public health leadership, particularly on communicable diseases and immunisation.
  • Dr Eugenie Tuck OAM received a Public Service Medal in 2014 for outstanding public service in the area of healthcare in correctional services.
  • Dr Catherine Yelland received a Public Service Medal for her outstanding public service, excellence and leadership in Older Persons Medical Services.

Keep up to date with our May Newsletter here.

Dr Desiree Yap.

Subscribe to our weekly e-Bulletin.

Like to receive AFMW news direct to your email? Please enter your details below to join our list. Please note subscribing to our mailing list does not confer AFMW membership.

* indicates required