Skip to content

AMA Federal Awards

A/Prof Magdalena Simonis AM and Dr Desiree Yap receiving their AMA awards

Congratulations to our two AFMW (Victorian) members who became recipients of the prestigious AMA awards at the Vic AMA Women in Medicine event held at the Lyceum Club in Melbourne on Monday 20th November 2023.


A/Prof Magdalena Simonis AM and Dr Desiree Yap

Hearty congratulations to A/Prof Magdalena Simonis AM on receiving the AMA President’s Award and Dr Desiree Yap who was granted the AMA Women’s Health Award.

Professor Steve Robson attended to deliver the awards but was delayed due to storms in Canberra. Our own Dr Kate Duncan AM was called in to officiate the official ceremony until his arrival.

On Monday 20th November we joined numerous esteemed guests from the Australian Medical Association (AMA Victoria) community in celebrating the awards of A/Prof Magdalena Simonis AM and Dr Desiree Yap AM. Both women continue to inspire our AFMW community and beyond.


The Awards Event

The event was held at The Lyceum Club by the AMA Victoria Women in Medicine Committee. It comprised both of an opportunity for networking plus a panel discussion which addressed the career balancing act experienced by many women in medicine. We hope to continue to strengthen our relationship with the AMA and look for opportunities to collaborate in the future.

There was a large VMWS presence in the room.

Dr Evelyn Konstantopoulos
AFMW Deputy Treasurer

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our weekly e-Bulletin.

Like to receive AFMW news direct to your email? Please enter your details below to join our list. Please note subscribing to our mailing list does not confer AFMW membership.

* indicates required