Skip to content

Three QMWS Bursary Winners Announced for the NCWQ Bursary Program

The AFMW state affiliate, QMWS  celebrate three Queensland Medical Women’s Society recipients for bursaries of $1000 awarded within the Bursary Program of the National Council of Women, Queensland.

These include:

  • The inaugural QMWS Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Bursary for a Medical Woman, sponsored by Mater, awarded to  Ms Julia-Rose Satre, a final year Doctor of Medicine student at Griffith University
  • The QMWS Professor Tess Cramond Memorial Bursary, sponsored by AMAQ, awarded to Ms Lucinda Connolly, a first year medical student at University of Queensland, and
  • The Queensland Medical Women’s Society Bursary awarded to Ms Sarah Gaukroger, a second year Doctor of Medicine at University of Queensland.

The profiles of the successful recipients are included in the NCWQ  Bursary 2022 Yearbook.

We celebrated with all successful recipients of the NCWQ Bursaries at a special Bursary Presentation at Queensland Parliament House on Saturday the 27 August, 2022.

This was attended by  NCWQ Patron, Her Excellency, the Honourable Dr Jeannette Young AC PSM, Governor of Queensland, with Guest Speaker the Honourable Shannon Fentiman MP, Queensland’s Attorney General and Minister for Justice, Minister for Women and Minister for the Prevention of Domestic and Family Violence. This was followed by the 2022 NCWQ President’s Lunch, which was a wonderful event.

Special thanks to Ms Kathy Cavanagh, the NCWQ Bursary Program Convenor, for her expert co-ordination of the Bursaries, and all the assistance, advice and encouragement that she has provided to QMWS in establishing our bursaries.

Leave a Reply

Subscribe to our weekly e-Bulletin.

Like to receive AFMW news direct to your email? Please enter your details below to join our list. Please note subscribing to our mailing list does not confer AFMW membership.

* indicates required